In 1917, British Foreign Secretary Lord Arthur Balfour signed the infamous ‘Balfour declaration’ which gave away the land of the Palestinians to establish a ‘Jewish homeland’.  At the time of the Balfour Declaration, the area of historic Palestine had a 90% Palestinian Arab population.

The Balfour Declaration states “that nothing shall be done which may prejudice the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine”, however this has clearly not been upheld.  In the run up to the Israeli declaration of independence, Arabs were forced out of their villages upon threat of death. 531 villages were completely cleansed of their Arab populations. Deir Yassin, a small village near Jerusalem was ethnically cleansed in April 1948 when 250 of its inhabitants were massacred by members of the Irgun and Lehi terrorist gang militias.  

The Irgun was also involved in the bombing of the King David Hotel, which killed 91 Jewish, Arab and British civilians. The Irgun then became part of the Israeli Defense Force (IDF)and its commander, Menachem Begin, would later become an Israeli Prime Minister.  Four Israeli Prime Ministers are confirmed to have taken part in terror attacks, massacres or ethnic cleansing; Menachem Begin, Yitzhak Shamir, Ariel Sharon and Yitzhak Rabin.